Why was the STEM Education Caucus created?

Our knowledge-based economy is driven by constant innovation. The foundation of innovation lies in a dynamic, motivated and well-educated workforce equipped with STEM skills. However, the nature of our workforce and the needs of our industries have changed over time.

stem 3Today, an understanding of scientific and mathematical principles, a working knowledge of computer hardware and software, and the problem solving skills developed by courses in STEM are necessary for most jobs. Therefore, STEM education is an enormous and pressing need.

In response to this need, several years ago Congressman Vern Ehlers (now retired) and Congressman Mark Udall (now in the U.S. Senate) launched the bipartisan STEM Education Caucus for Members of Congress. Today the bipartisan STEM Education Caucus is co chaired by Representative Dan Lipinski (D-IL), Representative Randy Hultgren (R-IL), Representative Richard Hanna (R-NY) and Representative Susan Davis (D-CA).


Dozens of Members have already joined the Caucus. All Members of Congress are urged to join the caucus.

Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Education is responsible for providing our country with three kinds of intellectual capital:

  • Scientists and engineers who will continue the research and development that is central to the economic growth of our country 
  • Technologically proficient workers who are capable of dealing with the demands of a science based, high technology workforce; and 
  • Scientifically literate voters and citizens who make intelligent decisions about public policy and who understand the world around them.

Effective Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Education is critical. The STEM ED Caucus seeks to strengthen STEM education at all levels (K-12, higher education and workforce) by providing a forum for Congress and the science, education and business communities to discuss challenges, problems, and solutions related to STEM education.



STEM Caucus Steering Committee

Guelzow, Amandaguelzowa@trianglecoalition.orgTriangle Coalition
Abts, Leighleighabts@aol.comUMD
Ambos, ElizabethEAmbos@cur.orgCouncil for Undergraduate Research
Brown, Jamesjfbrown@stemedcoalition.orgExecutive Director of the STEM Ed Coalition
Carl, MelissaCarlM@asme.orgAmerican Society of Mechanical Engineers
Carter, CordellCCarter@businessroundtable.orgBusiness Roundtable
Ciuca, Chriscciuca@sae.orgSAE Intl
Collins, Paulapcollins@ti.comTexas Instruments
Curtis, Patticurtisp@mos.orgMuseum of Science, Boston
Day, JasonJason.day@mail.house.govRep. Lipinski
Fakes, Paulfakesp@asme.orgAmerican Society of Mechanical Engineers
Fansmith, JonJfansmith@acenet.eduAmerican Council on Education
Howard, Robinrobin@cur.orgCouncil on Undergraduate Research
Kimmel, ShawnShawn.Kimmel@mail.house.govRep. Lipinski
Krehbiel, Kenkkrehbiel@nctm.orgNational Council of Teachers of Mathematics
Mahone, Brucebmahone@sae.orgSAE Intl
Peterson, Jodijodi_p@nsta.orgNational Science Teachers Association
Posey, LaurenL_Posey@acs.orgAmerican Chemical Society
Scullion, ChristineCScullion@nam.orgNational Association of Manufacturers
de Vries, Teresatdevries@hlc.orgHealthcare Leadership Council
Borrelli, Alicealice.b.borrelli@intel.comIntel
Dopplick, Reneedopplick@acm.orgAssociation for Computing Machinery
Mendoza, BrandonBrandon.Mendoza@mail.house.govRep. Davis
Thomas, DougDoug.Thomas@mail.house.govRep. Hultgren
Hepburn, AdamAdam.Hepburn@mail.house.govRep. Hanna