Why was the STEM Education Caucus created?


Our knowledge-based economy is driven by constant innovation. The foundation of innovation lies in a dynamic, motivated and well-educated workforce equipped with STEM skills. However, the nature of our workforce and the needs of our industries have changed over time.

Today, an understanding of scientific and mathematical principles, a working knowledge of computer hardware and software, and the problem solving skills developed by courses in STEM are necessary for most jobs. Therefore, STEM education is an enormous and pressing need.

In response to this need, several years ago Congressman Vern Ehlers (now retired) and Congressman Mark Udall (now in the U.S. Senate) launched the bipartisan STEM Education Caucus for Members of Congress. Today the bipartisan STEM Education Caucus is co chaired by Representative Dan Lipinski (D-IL), Representative Randy Hultgren (R-IL), Representative Richard Hanna (R-NY) and Representative Susan Davis (D-CA).

Dozens of Members have already joined the Caucus. All Members of Congress are urged to join the caucus.

Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Education is responsible for providing our country with three kinds of intellectual capital:


  • Scientists and engineers who will continue the research and development that is central to the economic growth of our country


  • Technologically proficient workers who are capable of dealing with the demands of a science based, high technology workforce; and


  • Scientifically literate voters and citizens who make intelligent decisions about public policy and who understand the world around them.


Effective Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Education is critical. The STEM ED Caucus seeks to strengthen STEM education at all levels (K-12, higher education and workforce) by providing a forum for Congress and the science, education and business communities to discuss challenges, problems, and solutions related to STEM education.


Members of the STEM Education Caucus Steering Committee members are listed below:
Abts, Leigh leighabts@aol.com UMD
Brown, James jfbrown@stemedcoalition.org STEM Education Coalition
Carl, Melissa CarlM@asme.org American Society of Mechanical Engineers
Scullion, Christine CScullion@nam.org National Association of Manufacturers
Collins, Paula pcollins@ti.com Texas Instruments
Curtis, Patti curtisp@mos.org Museum of Science, Boston
Hickey, Anne Anne_Hickey@ace.nche.edu American Council on Education
Krehbiel, Ken kkrehbiel@nctm.org National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
Mahone, Bruce bmahone@sae.org SAE International
Miller, Matt mmmiller@sae.org SAE International
Peterson, Jodi jodi_p@nsta.org National Science Teachers Association
Posey, Lauren L_Posey@acs.org American Chemical Society
Uherek, Amanda auherek@hlc.org Healthcare Leadership Council
Wilson, Cam wilson_c@hq.acm.org Association for Computing Machinery
Alice Borrelli Alice.b.borrelli@intel.com Intel – FYI only
Jessica Bridges jbridges@triangle-coalition.org  Triangle Coalition
Quinn Dang Quinn.Dang@mail.house.gov
Doug Thomas doug.thomas@mail.house.gov
Adam Hepburn Adam.Hepburn@mail.house.gov
Scott Gutierrez Scott.Gutierrez@mail.house.gov



The STEM Ed Caucus Steering Committee website is maintained by the National Science Teachers Association.

© STEM Education Caucus